What’s on

The 52nd Annual General Meeting of the Sri Lanka Institute of National Tourist Guide Lecturers was held on the 2nd of August 2020.
(More details)

A new insurance scheme for Tourist Guide Lecturers is being planned by Mrs. Kimarli Fernando, the Chairperson of Sri Lanka Tourism Development Authority (SLTDA), under the direction of Hon. Minister Prasanna Ranatunga. (More details)


International Tourist Guide Day – 2020

The International Tourist Guide Day was celebrated at the Sri Lanka Institute of Tourist Guide Lecturers (SLINTGL) with an event centred around the proposal to have Parakrama Samudraya declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The ingenious reservoir, considered the apex of Sri Lanka’s ancient irrigation system, was built in the 12th century CE in the then capital city of Polonnaruwa, located in north-central Sri Lanka.

Continue reading

Lesser known Colombo

We recently concluded a new 3-day workshop themed Lesser Known Colombo, successfully. It was a novel way to discover the city based on a treasure hunt, which was fun and very educational to the participants. The program was sponsored by Goethe-Institut of Sri Lanka, therefore was free of cost to the participating SLINTGL members. Due to its popularity we hope to make this an annual event focused on different cultural cities to highlight lesser known facets of those cities.

Continue reading…

Workshop on Related Laws and Regulations for Tour Guiding

A workshop for SLINTGL members on Related Laws and Regulations for Tour Guiding was conducted at the Institute on 26th Nov. 2019

Continue reading…


52nd Annual General Meeting of SLINTGL

The 52nd Annual General Meeting of the Sri Lanka Institute of National Tourist Guide Lecturers was held on the 2nd of August, 2020. A new management team (click the link to see details) was appointed for the year 2020/21 (and some necessary changes were made later with due approval from the Board).

About us

Our Mission:

1. Represent National Tourist Guide Lecturers, protect their interests and foster goodwill with other industry stakeholders within the tourism industry

2. Enhance the knowledge, skills and standards of the members through training courses, workshops and seminars

3. Work in collaboration with other industry stakeholders to ensure  sustainability, benefiting all Sri Lankans

4. Support regulatory authorities to implement and regulate the legal framework for tourism management


Mr. Suminda Dodangoda (acting)               

Dr. Mahesh Priyadarshana (immediate past president)


Mr. Sumedha Chandradasa


Mr. Priyalal Malaviarachchi


  • Mr. Lasantha Rajapaksha                – Vice President
  • Mr. Tuan Zainoor Jemion                 – Vice President
  • Ms. Nishanthi Rodrigo                      – Asst. Secretary
  • Ms. Isanka Gunawardana                – Asst. Treasurer
  • Mr. Pem Wickramasinghe              – Director Adviser
  • Mr. E. G. Upali                                        – Director Adviser
  • Mr. Asanka Senanayake                  – Director Adviser
  • Mr. Nalinda John                                  – Director Chief Organiser
  • Mr. Buddhika Ranasinghe               – Director Training
  • Mr. Upul Lasantha Wanasinghe   – Director Welfare
  • Mr. Hiran Samarasekara                  – Director Diary and Publications
  • Mr. Jayadewa Sudusinghe              – Director Media and PR
  • Mr. Manoj Maddage                           – Director Legal
  • Mr. Ranjith Singh                                 – Director Admin and HQ
  • Mr. Harsha Koralearachchi             – Director Projects and R&D
  • Mr. Suminda Dissanayake                                        
  • Mr. Kavinda Arangala                                            
  • Mr. Weerasingha Dahanayake                                                      
  • Mr. Anura Hemachandra                                       
  • Mr. Sudesh Wickramarthne   


  • Mr. Joe Livera
  • Mr. Christopher Silva
  • Mr. Ravi Munasinghe
  • Ms. Yasmin Abesooriya
  • Mr. Sisira Kuruppu

Our History

The initial tourism regulations were laid down in 1966 under the Ceylon Tourist Board act. The first batch who were trained as Tourist Guide Lecturers formed the Tourist Guide Lecturers Association in 1968 with 15 members who gathered at the residence of Mr. Dudley Perera electing Mr. Ernest Munasinghe as the president and Mr. Reggie Perera as the secretary. The association was registered as National Tourist Guide Lecturers Association of Sri Lanka (NTGLASL) in 1986. In 2007 the association was registered as the Sri Lanka Institute of National Tourist Guide Lecturers (SLINTGL). The first office was established in 1986 at Connaisance De Ceylan office in Colombo 8. A permanent office was operated in the Taj Samudra complex from 1987 to 1995. In 1995 a building was purchased at no 37/35, Temple Road, Colombo 10 where the present four storied headquarters was built in 2009.

The institute at present has 1480 NTGLs speaking 24 different languages engaged in professional tour guiding in Sri Lanka. The Institute is a full member of the World Federation of Tourist Guide Associations (WFTGA) which is the worldwide international federation representing official tourist guides. To mark “International Tourist Guide Day” (ITGD) which is on 21st February workshops and community activities are organized by the institute. Also to mark the world tourism day on 27th September special programmes are conducted in addition to holding workshops for industry employees and university students studying tourism management.


Please contact us for information. We will get back to you as soon as we can.