About us

Our Mission:

1. Represent National Tourist Guide Lecturers, protect their interests and foster goodwill with other industry stakeholders within the tourism industry

2. Enhance the knowledge, skills and standards of the members through training courses, workshops and seminars

3. Work in collaboration with other industry stakeholders to ensure  sustainability, benefiting all Sri Lankans

4. Support regulatory authorities to implement and regulate the legal framework for tourism management


Mr. Manoj Maddage


Mr. Akthar Mohamad (Acting)


Mr. Rajindra Ranjithsingh


  • Mr. Anura  Hemachandra (Vice President)
  • Mr. Upul Wanasinghe (Vice President)
  • Mr. Sunil Geeganaarachchi (Vice President)
  • Mr. Hashan Fonseka (Consultant/ Advisor)
  • Mr. Janaka Dunusinghe (Chief organizer)
  • Mr. Akthar Mohamad (Assistant Secretary)
  • Mr. M D  Prabhath (Assistant Treasurer)
  • Ms. Amali de Zoysa (Director Welfare)
  • Mr. Anil Munasinghe (Director Training)
  • Mr. Senaka  Jayadewa (Director Diary and Publications)
  • Mr. Richard James (Director Media and Public Relations)
  • Mr. Lucky Alwis (Director Legal)
  • Mr. Rohana Hettiarachchi (Director Administration and   HQ)
  • Mr. Udaya Dharmawansha (Director Projects and Resources Development)
  • Mr. Dharmin Samarajeewa (Director Advisor)
  • Mr. Thiranjan Premarathne (Director Advisor)
  • Mr. Daniel S. Nadarajan (Director)
  • Mr. Anurudda Fernando (Director)
  • Ms. Sanjika Hengst (Director)
  • Mr. Muthu Ekanayaka (Director)
  • Mr. Manjula Fernando (Director)
  • Mr. Dananjaya Meththasinghe (Director)


  • Mr. Joe Livera
  • Mr. Christopher Silva
  • Mr. Ravi Munasinghe
  • Ms. Yasmin Abesooriya
  • Mr. Bobby Senaweera

Our History

The initial tourism regulations were laid down in 1966 under the Ceylon Tourist Board act. The first batch who were trained as Tourist Guide Lecturers formed the Tourist Guide Lecturers Association in 1968 with 15 members who gathered at the residence of Mr. Dudley Perera electing Mr. Ernest Munasinghe as the president and Mr. Reggie Perera as the secretary. The association was registered as National Tourist Guide Lecturers Association of Sri Lanka (NTGLASL) in 1986. In 2007 the association was registered as the Sri Lanka Institute of National Tourist Guide Lecturers (SLINTGL). The first office was established in 1986 at Connaisance De Ceylan office in Colombo 8. A permanent office was operated in the Taj Samudra complex from 1987 to 1995. In 1995 a building was purchased at no 37/35, Temple Road, Colombo 10 where the present four storied headquarters was built in 2009.

The institute at present has 1480 NTGLs speaking 24 different languages engaged in professional tour guiding in Sri Lanka. The Institute is a full member of the World Federation of Tourist Guide Associations (WFTGA) which is the worldwide international federation representing official tourist guides. To mark “International Tourist Guide Day” (ITGD) which is on 21st February workshops and community activities are organized by the institute. Also to mark the world tourism day on 27th September special programmes are conducted in addition to holding workshops for industry employees and university students studying tourism management.